A Guide to Kirkpatrick Certification

Since the 1950s, the Kirkpatrick Model has been one of the most well-known evaluating training and educational programs. In 2010, this initial model evolved to become The New World Kirkpatrick Model, sticking with the original four evaluation levels but clarifying their definitions and adding new explanations. This evolution still allows businesses and professionals alike to become Kirkpatrick Certified - only to a more comprehensive degree.

To give you some more insight, we’ve created this easy-to-follow guide that will provide you with the information you need so that you too can be on your way to gaining a Kirkpatrick Certification.

woman smiling at desk

What is the Kirkpatrick Four Levels® Evaluation Certification programme?

The Kirkpatrick Four Levels® Evaluation Certification programme is a course designed to teach learners the Kirkpatrick methodology and how to apply it to their organisation with the aim to maximise business results.

The programme considers a wide range of training strategies to determine knowledge and aptitude based on four levels of criteria: reaction, learning, behaviour, and results. All of which are studied extensively throughout the course (but more on that later).

Learners also explore the reasons why training evaluation is vital to successful L&D programs as well as learn tactics to help them to distribute training resources effectively. They’ll also focus heavily on how to ensure that what is learned during training will properly transfer to the workplace.

This innovative programme ultimately guides learners to understand why training on its own is not enough, and why Kirkpatrick evaluation helps provide the direction that businesses need to ensure their training efforts don’t go to waste while at work.

Why should I be certified?

Over the last seven decades, thousands of businesses have applied the Kirkpatrick training methodology to improve their business performance.

If you decide to become Kirkpatrick Certified, you and your organisation will benefit from transforming learning into genuine workplace behaviour change - creating the business impact you need to get the results you want.

How do I become certified?

In line with their progressive evaluation methodology, the Kirkpatrick Four Levels® Evaluation Certification Programme consists of three certification levels: Bronze, Silver, and Gold. 

If you’re new to Kirkpatrick Certification, you’ll inevitably start at the Bronze Level where you’ll attend two workshops and complete a post-work assignment, all of which will focus on personalising an effective learning and development plan for your organisation.

Once you’ve completed the Kirkpatrick Bronze Level Certification, you can continue on to study the Silver Level Certification which will teach you how to successfully execute a well-rounded programme evaluation plan and report on results while engaging with stakeholders. 

Then, finally, there’s the Gold Level Certification, a course designed for professionals who want to make a difference with training and development beyond their own organisations in line with the New World Kirkpatrick Model. Silver Certified individuals become Gold Certified by presenting or publishing a programme evaluation process, results or best practices in a way that assists other training or business professionals.

Now, keep in mind that to become Kirkpatrick Certified you only need to obtain a Bronze Level Certification, however, there’s always the option to upgrade to a Silver and Gold Level Certification in the future should you so choose.

Pexels The Coach Space 2977565

What are the Four Levels® and how do I complete them?

While each certification level differs, they each run on four levels of evaluation underpinned by the Kirkpatrick Foundational Principles to ensure their success. These levels include: 

1. Reaction 

This level is evaluated and completed based on participant satisfaction, engagement, and relevance to the job. Learners are generally given a questionnaire to provide their feedback on training at this level.

2. Learning

This level is completed by acquiring the necessary knowledge, skills, attitude, confidence, and commitment, all of which are evaluated and based on your participation during training.

3. Behaviour

Completing this level generally happens post-training as typically behaviour change needs to be observed over a period of time (i.e. six months or more) to ensure that training and development have been applied correctly and that processes and systems encourage and reward job performance.

4. Results

The last level of evaluation is based solely on results. This means reflecting on short-term observations and KPIs to understand whether behaviour change has been effective, ultimately creating a positive workplace impact with the ideal results.

Pexels Julia M Cameron 4144222

Why should I choose DPG to become Kirkpatrick Certified?

Becoming Kirkpatrick Certified with DPG PLC is simple (and really quite flexible). In fact, 97% of existing customers recommend us as their trusted provider.

We offer both open and in-house programmes, and the option to learn 100% online with the added benefits of:

  • DPG being the exclusive UK providers of Kirkpatrick programmes
  • Programmes delivered by the UK’s only Kirkpatrick Certified Facilitators, Phil Wilcox and Jo Edwards, with over 25 years of training experience
  • Multiple programmes on offer throughout the year
  • Receiving a downloadable manual filled with examples and templates to adapt to your own training evaluation plan
  • Affordability and no hidden costs

Becoming Kirkpatrick Certified is the first step to ultimate success in creating fantastic training and financial benefits that will show both colleagues and stakeholders that your development initiatives are moving your organisation in the right direction - meaning not only will you get a high return on investment but also a high return on expectations.

Discover the Kirkpatrick Four Levels® Evaluation Certification Programme and become an expert in training evaluation for your organisation.

Get Your FREE Kirkpatrick Brochure

Get more information on this course

Share this post